Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav: Journalists felicitated in Darrang district

Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, Journalists Honored in Darrang District

MANGALDAI – “While everyone is celebrating Azadi Ka Amarit Mahotsav, but the historical Peasants Uprising in Darrang on January 28th 1894 and the ultimate sacrifice of 140 Krishaks at Pothorughat (Darrang) is still not being recognized and honored by the Government of India. “It is extremely unfortunate that either the President or Prime Minister has not yet made a visit at Pothorughat to pay tribute to these Krishak Swahids,” Mayukh Goswami (secretary of Mangaldai Media Circle), said Monday night at a public felicitation event at Pothorughat’s Krishak Swahid Memorial.

Pothoru Samannwaya Gosthi was a leading socio-cultural group in Pothorughat. The function was to honor the journalism of Darrang for their outstanding contribution to this important yet forgotten episode at the national level.

Former AASU activist Habibur Rahman, a social activist and teacher Akhil Ranjan Bhatta addressed the gathering. He also expressed anger at the government’s neglect to commemorate this historic chapter in the Indian freedom struggle.

The function saw 32 Darrang journalists receive felicitation, including a Bihuwan (a memento), a letter and citation. Bhargab Kumar Die, Mayukh Goswami and Hemanta Kumar Barua were among them. Shashangka Hazarika, President’s Award recipient, also participated in the meeting. Mostak Hussain, the secretary of Gosthi, explained the purpose of the function earlier and welcomed all journalists and members of the public. Fariha Ahmed, an emerging talent, charmed the crowd with her patriotic song.

Assam Pension Scheme for Journalists 2022