Assam: Northeast Now journo conferred with Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar 2022

Assam: Northeast Now journalno awarded to Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar 2020

GUWAHATI: On Wednesday, August 24, the names of the awardes for Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar 2020 were revealed.

A recipient of the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar 2020 is one Northeast Now journalist.

Northeast Now Pradyumna Gogoi, a promising journalist, has received the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar 20,22.

Pradyumna Gogoi was recognized for his book Choki Aru Anyanya Galpa (short stories).

Gogoi was also awarded the Munin Borkotoky Sahitya Award for the same book in 2021.

The Munin Barkotoki Memorial Trust, while giving away the award, had termed Pradyumna Kumar Gogoi, as a “promising young story writer of Assamese language”.

Pradymna Kumar Gogoi is from Doigrung, Golaghat District of Assam.


On 12 March 1954, the Government of India officially inaugurated Sahitya Akademi.

According to the Government of India Resolution which established the Akademi constitution, the Akademi was a national organization that would work for Indian literary development and high literary standards.

The Akademi was established by the government, but it functions independently. Under the Societies Registration Act 1860, it was officially registered as a society.

Sahitya Akademi, India’s National Academy of Letters, is the central institution for literary dialogue, publication and promotion in the country and the only institution that undertakes literary activities in 24 Indian languages, including English.